Let Me Go

Let Me Go

Love as much mends, breaks.

Breaks hearts, habits, fills cracks, and creates more, hurricane of happiness and cyclone of sadness.

We could sit and fight on whose fault it was that things ended,

Mine, Yours or Circumstances?

 

Let Me Go

For I have learnt many a lesson, broken trust, shards of glass that still manage to hurt,

And so I have learnt to breathe, again. To take one day at a time.

That time will never heal wounds, you learn to live with the pain,

Until it becomes a part of you, nestled right under your skin.

 

Let Me Go

And despite what has happened, I still love you,

Some part of me, in some corner of my heart.

But in a different way, one I can’t explain.

You see, love can’t just be stopped,

Like energy, it can neither be created nor destroyed, all it does is take another form.

 

Let Me Go

I feel like I’m not the same person I knew a year ago,

All changed, yet the same,

Like one day I woke up and remembered you, us as two people in a separate lifetime.

 

Let Me Go

Sleepless nights, tear stained pillows and cheeks,

All in 23 years, I have cried maybe a handful times, such was my strength.

This time something broke, and here I was alone, grappling in a flood of emotions,

On the surface, to this day no matter how bad the pain, I manage a smile.

It’s strange that I miss the sound of my laugh, that loud carefree one.

 

Let Me Go

Funny thing sadness is, it makes you kinder,

Capable of listening to others, truly listening to their problems.

Forces you to feel, unlock that Pandora’s Box,

Enough of being an escape artist, it coaxes.

 

Let Me Go

With you some part of me got lost, broke, withered and died,

Even after the lies, indifference, hurt,

Maybe the whole is greater than the sum of its parts.

11 thoughts on “Let Me Go

  1. Funny thing is when he did let me go. all I wanted was to run back to him. But he had left me far behind.

    Really like your writing! It is very relatable. Good job! 😉

    • The last time that I returned his letters to him, I wanted to leave him a note. One that said that I’m giving him all that he wanted when we were together, giving him his heart back..

      Thank you 🙂

      • That sounds like an amazing short story. I would really enjoy colabing with you. If you may….just check out my work if you want and then lets see?

        No matter what I did, the heart she gave me back Dint fit right anymore and nor did it love ever again. And she wasn’t there to fix it again.

        You’re welcome 😉

  2. Doesn’t matter how many ‘let me go’ events happen in life. Its our footprints, which may erase with tides of time, and we try our best to do so by returning letters and all. But, what remains is the memories of good time and the experiences which helps us to leap forward. We may sail ahead but milestones remain, and this poetry is one such beautiful milestone.

    In a song they say, ‘वो मोड़ जो तुम मुड़ गये थे, वो मोड़ अब भी वहीं खड़ी है’

Leave a Reply

