Blur

Some days remain frozen in time, some memories stay etched in your mind forever, and some people, no matter how hard you try to push them away, hide in a deep dark corner of your heart, not yet ready to vacate.

You sat on a plastic chair, sipping your tea and making lesson plans while I poured myself over my books. It had been raining since morning, it drizzled, poured and then angrily growled, lashing false threats to cause more rain. Suddenly out of the blue, you get up, check the weather outside and declare that we were going out for a long drive.

Almost shrieking and jumping, I immediately abandon my books, quickly change and run towards the door while you hold a look of pure amusement on your face, the lopsided smile and the sunflower bright yellow t-shirt. And all the time that we were on the drive, I got a barrage of instructions, from putting on the seatbelt to not lowering the window’s glass further.

We were on the expressway, owing to the weather, it was scarcely crowded, and there was a nip in the air. Just when you tried to adjust your seatbelt, we drove over a huge puddle of water at full speed. Splash!

There was water everywhere, like a fountain for 15 seconds, and we looked at each other, in shock and then laughed, and laughed till our cheeks hurt.

It rained today, quite heavily and as I was going to class, out of nowhere a car came alongside and zoomed by, splashing water everywhere. At that moment when I laughed, I could remember the laugh from that day ringing in my ears. Like it was just yesterday that it all happened.

I read a lot of things about love and the beauty of its poetic pain, but the truth is that this pain comes in various forms, sometimes a twinge, at times a bitterness, a tug at your heart and on other days, just an avalanche that drowns out everything else.

I have learnt that there is nothing beautiful about this pain, what it does is remind you of a time, one that has passed a long time back. All you can do some days, is push past the pain, slap on a smile and try to be strong.


Was listening to this song while writing the post, some songs just sing your heart

http://gaana.com/song/hearbeat-from-kal-ho-naa-ho

63 thoughts on “Blur

  1. They say time is a healer but they forgot pains are never πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚
    Great post Nishita πŸ™‚

  2. ‘Push past the smile, slap on a smile and be strong’ — that’s all we need to know in the hard times. It’s difficult but not impossible.

    Beautifully written.

    -Naima

  3. Thank-you for reminding us that life is about moments. We need to cherish the special moments, acknowledge, learn from and survive the difficult ones and remind ourselves to live our greatest life today.

    Thanks for letting me relive some special moments, even if they are now tinged with a sense of loss, I am lucky to have had them.

    Mariska

      • Somedays I just watch k3g all over again just to see that introduction scene where he rushes in to meet his mother and has that little mischievous look on his face when he finds her waiting as USUAL! He is just SOOO adorable in that! See? You mentioned srk and now I’m just flooding your comments section. πŸ˜‰

      • Arre! If you have to gush about shahrukh here, you are most welcome!
        he is anyways my mentally married husband πŸ˜›

        I watch k3g, for the drama, i love the extreme masala dancing around the trees movies, complete shameless bollywood chaap I am πŸ˜›

  4. Sometimes memories like this and it really becomes difficult whether they are beautiful or painful ….. It does bring a small smile and then….. these posts of yours touch and hold a special place in my heart, can’t explain in words….

  5. Hi wanderer,

    So much depth in that post. You have started writing senti posts these days, which is good. I enjoy your senti posts (not pain).

    Enjoy your weekend!

  6. *story teller = Nisha* Finally got your name.
    though I possess different thoughts about pain and love and all, I found it quite relative. Good one.
    Used to listen to that song few years back.

    • I’m contemplating suing SRK over his ‘There-is-a-perfect-guy-out-there-who-loves-you-to-no-end-and-is-your-bestfriend-not-shallow-and-never-will-dump-you-and-can’t-get-enough-of-you-and-is-cheesy-as-hell’ may as well as try suing Mills and Boons for the same and the Bollywood too! πŸ˜€

      2 shots to being lovesick idiots! πŸ˜€

      • Ya man, should bloody well sue them all! Sighh, I going to keep all future nieces/nephews/other kids away from anything remotely ‘lovey dovey’ must not paint a rosy picture when the real world is nothing like it :-/

      • I told some 15 year old girl that it all looks good now love and all, but know that this guy will probably dump your ass a few years down the line and then you will be heartbroken and the career thing will go out of the window and that bad company and poor choices in rebound are bound to follow. So just stay zen till you are twenty anyways you aren’t missing out on much and rattled a lady gaga quote. And then this kid rats me out to my dad who is now worried that I am going to be alone forever, I may have added on how painful kids are, now that made my situation look seriously bad 😦

      • Arre.. nahi I put in the link too πŸ˜₯
        Boo hoohoo!
        Okay, wait search for lady gaga career quote on google πŸ˜›
        Tried to post the link and the image, looks like wordpress is throwing a tantrum again!

      • OK I take that back. The image didn’t show up in the notifications tab. I see it now. Lol. I thought you didn’t listen to all these English Vinglish songs.. And now you are quoting Gaga! Too much!

      • πŸ˜› Songs I still don’t listen to, what people say that all I can read na πŸ˜›

        My phone has probably 3 selfies and 3000 odd pictures of quotes and random literature. I have the entire terribly tiny tales collection on my phone πŸ˜€

      • Heheh, always focus on the things that matter, huh?
        Ahem, I have more than 3 selfies but ya, I do the same. Take screenshots every time I read something I like, and ya ttt is one amongst them πŸ™‚

      • You look good in selfies! My naak becomes tedha sometimes, thanks to my large forehead, I may seem bald-ish too πŸ˜›
        So I steer clear of them πŸ˜›

Leave a Reply

