Childhood

9999999999999999999999

Of abandoned slides and forgotten rides.

When did we grow so old that we forgot to be young for a while.

To laugh out loud without inhibitions.

Smile wide and not duck or fish.

Make friends with an open heart and arms.

Speak our mind and make amends easily.

Reach out for that bar of chocolate because you let your heart win over your mind.

Try our best without thinking of failures and more importantly to do only what we wanted to, no expectations to fulfill and no one to prove to.

Let us let that child in us take over, just for a while.


I took this picture while travelling back home and as soon as I saw this ‘Industrial Exhibition’ I remembered all the times that I wailed and pleaded that I should be taken here for the jolly rides and the cotton candy. As expected it always turned out to be a nonsensical affair with malfunctioning rides and boring bedsheets from all over the country but I never lost the heart to visit them! πŸ˜€

49 thoughts on “Childhood

  1. Let childhood take us away for a while. Then we can again miss childhood with all our might πŸ˜€

    I enjoyed childhood. Somebody throw a brick on my head from the top and let’s see if I grow backwards as a kid πŸ˜€ What an idea!!! lol

  2. True, they were always nonsensical. But yet, they have a mystique about them. The scent of popcorn and cotton candy filled the air. There were the prizes that could never be won, but it was fun to play them. Most of the rides weren’t that good, but there were a few good ones.

    • I read about the part of having no friends and that was the situation with me too, no friends in the apartment that i lived in but thankfully a sister to keep me sane.

      But the more that i think about circumstances now, the greater is the urge to run back to my childhood, i miss being carefree and not surrounded by assholes and a disgusting boss and a terribly horrible workplace too!

  3. Your poem brought back a lot of childhood memories πŸ™‚ I also wanted to go to the fairground, and as a child, it seemed magical πŸ™‚
    I think one can grow up without losing sight of the inner child. It does need to be let free now and then πŸ™‚
    Thank you for visiting and following my blog and all the likes – you have spiked my stats! πŸ™‚ hehe

      • Thanks πŸ™‚ but I’ve only got the 2 dogs at the moment. A bit confusing I know, as I write about All the dogs I’ve had πŸ™‚ Since, they stay in your heart forever. πŸ™‚
        So weird – I followed you, but I see it doesn’t show! Trying again. I enjoyed your blog very much πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

