Merry Go Round!

5333943950_2c062d7465

When I was a kid, an annual exhibition called Numaaish would be held, where handicrafts from all over India; shops selling the choicest chaat, sweets and cotton candy and a little place for rides would be present. And I would wail by heart out if I wasn’t taken to this exhibition and bought cotton candy and denied a ride on the Merry go round.

Yes, the merry go round and not the Ferris wheel because I was/am a tad bit scared that if it stopped mid way, high up and they couldn’t fix it and no one would volunteer to rescue then I would have to grow old in that rickety bench, 60 odd feet above the ground. Similar reasons would be applicable to the Columbus, since I had this irrational fear that I would be swung right out of my seat and into the air as it picked up speed.

This post is a tribute to all those times, when I felt like I was galloping around the entire world, with the wind in my hair, a big grin plastered on my face, the aroma of caramel in the air and an excited thumpy heart in place.

This takes me back to the very reason that I blog, to be able to wander around, to different blogs that take me to places all around the world and meet people across the other end of the globe.

And thus instead of making my blog a no awards one, I set up this page. One where you can indulge in self-promotion of your own posts/blog or put in the post or blog of other awesome bloggers!

To help others like me to have a glimpse of your country, culture, the reason you smile, the books you read, the one who broke your heart, the places that you visited/ want to visit, your thoughts and everything else that forms a part of your world.

So, Let’s be friends?


On a completely random note, this is my 150th post! 😀

 

60 thoughts on “Merry Go Round!

  1. I like the ferris wheel though, love the height and view that I get. So! shall we go for a ride and chat till the end of the ride? 🙂

    I completely agree with your view of blogging too 🙂 🙂

    • Truly!! 🙂
      I read about someone else’s happiness or their struggles that motivate me, sometimes just a funny incident that happened with them ends up cheering me up, or just something that they wrote stays back with me and that way, in my own way, i end up having a bond with an unknown stranger 🙂

  2. It’s nice to have met a friend I love blogging for this reason a way to meet others. If you can help me promote my blogs I would truly appreciate it. I’ve posted 105 now. Love my new friend Thank you.

  3. I love merry-go-rounds! There’s a place not far from my home where adults can ride the horses, too, so I try to go there at least once a year and ride. I like ferris wheels, too. All those rides bring out the little kid in me.

    • 😀
      Now, I’m incredibly jealous!!
      The last time that I rode on a horse was when I was a tiny 8 year old 😛 At some beach! Now thinking about it, I’m pretty sure that it was a mule 😛

  4. There’s an old fashioned merry go round in Burnaby (BC) at the village museum. It still works and a ride’s included in the entrance fee. Haven’t been on it myself as I’m a ferris wheel kind of person.

  5. Oooo… Those days.. I wish I can go have sit on the ferris wheel Yes, I don’t mind growing old on that rickety bench! Infact, I sometimes wished it would stop when I was in the highest bench and get to leisurely watch the world go about while I looked on!

  6. I like the idea 😀 Regarding the fairs,I wasn’t allowed to sit in the Ferris wheels as such,but after much requests,my parents allowed me if only I could find any relative of ours in the fair,who will be interested in accompanying me for that. I should have known how impossible it was to find someone in crowd, but I was a kid, so it happened once and it was scary and fun 😀

  7. this is sweet..and one of the most honest and cute reason i have heard in a very long time. and believe me, i hear the worst of them in my line. to ur fair, back here in Malaysia, we call them funfair (pronunce: funfeh) and it is the most exciting because they just pop up out of something, somehwere. to be able to attend and play is a blessing back then, and we would end up worshipping the adult who brought us there for the rest of ur life ..at least i still do.
    hah..(this is me, walking down the memory lane).
    again, ur reason is cute, i follow u..i still read and re-read ur tiny tales..attempted few as well..funny how u inspire people despite being oceans and continents apart. 🙂

  8. Haven’t been on any of those in a long long time. If there’s anything I’d like to do again, is swing. I used to looove doing that. Last year we went to this resort from work, and they had adult sized swings there! I nearly cried seeing them! Hehehe!
    But as far as rides are concerned, I am terrified of the rollercoaster. I used to be able to go for all sorts of rides, but after have a little encounter with vertigo, I’ve gotten too scared.
    Btw, love the thought behind this post 🙂

Leave a Reply

