Side by Side

This topic for this week’s Linda’s stream of consciousness is side

There are quite a few things that come to mind when I think of side.

Love : There is this advertisement in which the husband walks to wife’s side, so that she is safe, away from the oncoming traffic. This shows how little things matter, you needn’t always say ‘I love you’, its the little things that you do which counts. 🙂


 

pheras

Marriage : In Hindu weddings, the couple take seven rounds around the sacred fire. A rough interpretation of the Seven Vows are as follows: 

Groom:
You will offer me food and be helpful in every way. I will cherish you and provide welfare and happiness for you and our children.
Bride:
I am responsible for the home and all household responsibilities.

Groom:
Together we will protect our house and children.
Bride:
I will be by your side as your courage and strength. I will rejoice in your happiness. In return, you will love me solely. 

Groom:
May we grow wealthy and prosperous and strive for the education of our children. May our children live long.
Bride:
I will love you solely for the rest of my life, as you are my husband. Every other man in my life will be secondary. I vow to remain chaste. 

Groom:
You have brought sacredness into my life, and have completed me. May we be blessed with noble and obedient children.
Bride:
I will shower you with joy, from head to toe. I will strive to please you in every way I can.

Groom: You are my best friend, and staunchest well-wisher. You have come into my life, enriching it. God bless you.
Bride:
I promise to love and cherish you for as long as I live. Your happiness is my happiness, and your sorrow is my sorrow. I will trust and honor you, and will strive to fulfill all your wishes.

Groom:
May you be filled with joy and peace.
Bride:
I will always be by your side.

Groom:
We are now husband and wife, and are one. You are mine and I am yours for eternity.
Bride:
As God is witness, I am now your wife. We will love, honor and cherish each other forever.

What I don’t understand is why is the woman required take the entire house hold responsibility? Isn’t it the husband’s family too? The wife promises to love only her husband for the rest of her life whereas the husband makes no such promise. The wife in turn too promises to please and fulfill all of her husband’s wishes, why isn’t the husband promising the same? Incase a relationship starts off with these promises making the wife almost a second rated citizen, how is it fair?

Infact even during the pheras (rounds taken around the fire) the husband walks ahead in the first four and the wife walks ahead of him in the last three, why isn’t that both of them walk side by side next to each other. This would signify that they are in this together and with each other, to face the problems and the enjoy life together too.

On the whole the ‘Big Fat Indian Wedding’ is a well-orchestrated show of wealth and wastage of food. It is high time that we stopped treating weddings as a black hole of both, money and food.


 

Bike rides : Two incidents that I will never forget

Incident one – As a celebration of the arrival of her new bike, me and my friend left from office to one of the local bazaars to buy earrings. The bazaar was at quite a distance and all the time that we were on the bike a good’s carrier autorikshaw kept following us, at times cutting through our way and passing comments. In order to lose him, my friend slowed down but that did more harm than good, he kept pushing us to the side of the road divider and once followed us into a narrow lane and cornered our bike to the walls leading us to almost fall off.

Incident two – One day my friend offered to drop me home. I climbed onto the bike without realising what followed next. My friend was apparently very bad at picking out which side was right and which was left. At most times at the signals she would put the indicator to the right and turn left and vice-versa, which was obviously met with loud honking and sometimes a few abuses. At that instant we came to an agreement, where she would ask me to show right and I had to stick my hand out. Finally I had to teach her that right = the hand with which we eat and one that is left out is left! 😛

 

4 thoughts on “Side by Side

Leave a Reply

