I hear you..

A mad scientist friend offers you a chip that would allow you to know what the people you’re talking to are thinking. The catch: you can’t turn it off. Do you accept the chip?

This is a post that definitely needs in depth analysis. I’m dividing my arguments into a set of Pros and Cons.

The only boon that I can think of is –

1) You are never wrong, always answering what is expected out of you will keep you in good books and at times helps to avoid unfortunate/dangerous situations.

However I have a long list of banes –

1) It doesn’t let you concentrate on the conversation that is taking place.

2) It zaps out all the mystery of conversation and since I’m a romantic at heart, having a bit of mystery is what is needed. Just imagine if you knew that your crush was also smitten by you then where would the fun of flirting and discovering feelings go!?

3) I interact with a lot of people from different classes of the society and I would definitely not like listening to their thoughts. (Just imagine listening to the thoughts of a person who scratches his crotch while talking to you, nope I’m not interested.) At times it helps to turn your face away from the bad, gives atleast a bit of peace.

4) If there is something that you know will hurt you and you still want to prod, it will do you no good. For example – There are a few things that me and “him” don’t share with each other and even though I have the itch in my palm to know about it, it will end up hurting me eventually. If I do question him about the same and can read what his thoughts are and they turn against what I hope then it would lead to an unnecessary situation. Sometimes ignorance is bliss. Things like this lead you test your partner and keep a check. I believe if something has to work out then it will and if it doesn’t have to or isn’t fated to, then no matter what you do, it won’t make a difference.

5) Its addictive, just like stalking your crush’s profile on facebook.

6) Life is good the way it is, avoiding bad people by knowing their not so good intentions is good but sometimes people come into your life as lessons.

lessons-quote

 

2 thoughts on “I hear you..

Leave a Reply

