And the world goes round and round

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/its-your-party/

Since many are marking their country’s “birthday” in the US today, we wanted to ask: How do you celebrate yours? Are you all for a big bash, or more of a low-key birthday boy/girl?

I have very very very few friends, 3 in total. Unfortunately, 2 of them don’t live in the same city where I reside. Hence, my birthdays are a super low key affair, I religiously bunk either work/college/school on my birthday and relish the extra time that I get to sleep.

Since I’m a book worm, my parents/friends usually gift me books and I spend a good chunk of the morning trying to finish reading the book alternated with staring at the fan on the ceiling. Somehow this staring at the ceiling is my favourite. Its like watching the world go round and round while you are stationary and brings me a strange feeling of peace and calm. Later I spend a good hour odd replying to the calls that have invariably got missed because I lay in my deep slumber and the wishes via messages and facebook.

Later in the afternoon, I would probably spend my time buying chocolates and distributing them amongst the watchman’s kids and going to the temple to donate some money that would be used in feeding the poor. However since last 2 years, I have been celebrating my birthday at the school where I volunteer.

In the evening, my mother will plan a little surprise with my immediate family (mom, dad, sis, a few close neighbours) and the only reason that I join in this charade is because of the cake! Who can ever say no to CAKE! and this would be followed by dinner (because no matter what I love to eat!). 😀

birthday

celebrations at school! 🙂

5 thoughts on “And the world goes round and round

  1. Pingback: It’s Your Party or Not | Prairie Views

  2. Pingback: Birthday Party!!! | Mere Thoughts

Leave a Reply

