To play, or not to play, that is the question

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/strike-a-chord/

Do you play an instrument? Is there a musical instrument whose sound you find particularly pleasing? Tell us a story about your experience or relationship with an instrument of your choice.

 

My trysts with musical instruments:

Mouth-organ– Umm.. the name sounds a bit weird when you grow up but then it was my favorite thing when I was a kid. Courtesy – old Bollywood movies which inspired me to wail and make a sob face to get my father to buy one which was being sold by the vendors in the train. What followed next was half an hour of mindless, high-pitched, squealing sounds before I got a threatening glare from the other passengers in the compartment after which it was snatched away. Though I did manage to provide enough inspiration to the other kids in the boogie who later on troubled their parents thus resulting in enough profits for the vendor.

Hohner-Chromonica-48-harmonica

Mouth-Organ!

One of my favourite songs that shows the use of the harmonica! πŸ™‚

 

Flute – Mostly during summer vacations in the afternoons, a man would walk by with a bunch of flutes that he carried in a cloth bag. He would play the melodious beautiful tunes as he passed by the lane. I would wait and watch him every day from the balcony. One day when I couldn’t contain theΒ longing anymore, me and my sister pleaded to my parents for some money to buy the flute. Although what followed after we purchased was just sounds of air and ultimately since we felt cheated that the flute guy had given us a spoilt one, it was safely tucked away at a place my other wouldn’t find it Β so that she wouldn’t lecture us about what a gross waste of money it was.

 

Drums – I still remember watching Sivamani play the drums and for me it was the most mind boggling thing. My sudden craze to play drums luckily coincided with the time my house was getting painted. Post some inspiration from a nerolac ad, I collected all the empty paint cans and used them to play drums, surprisingly enough the very next day I find that a few of them were given away, and in the remaining ones either water was being stored or it was used as the plant pots.

Guitar – My mom learnt the guitar when she was young and it is still lying discarded in one of the cupboards of my house. Inquisitiveness and my sudden fondness for zeenat aman resulted in me begging my mom to teach me to play. Just a day after my official classes had begun the nail that is used to play, vanished! My mom dusted the guitar and put it back into the cupboard, ending my short lived affair with it.

P.S – Since I’m a bengali, my parents were appalled by my horrific relationship with music instruments, however since I sing well, I guess it did compensate! Such is the wonder of bengali genes. We have to be born with a music/art bone! πŸ™‚

P.P.S – Looks like wordpress is also in the mood to play music after taking inspiration from the dailyprompt. Considering the “beep beep boop” πŸ˜› πŸ˜€

 

15 thoughts on “To play, or not to play, that is the question

  1. Pingback: The Guitar Man | Understanding and Embracing Diversity

  2. Pingback: Cord Struck : Are We Listening? | It's Mayur Remember?

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Strike a Chord | Incidents of a Dysfunctional Spraffer

  4. Pingback: Tinkling Sound through my soul! | shivansh chaudhary

  5. Pingback: The Cello–Strikes a Chord | 365 Days of Thank You

  6. Pingback: Scandalous love. | The Hempstead Man

Leave a Reply

