Judgments, decisions and mistakes

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/binding-judgment/

Does it ever make sense to judge a book by its cover — literally or metaphorically? Tell us about a time you did, and whether that was a good decision or not.

From where I come; being good at studies, ensuring that you get into one of the premier institutes and working under a white boss with a good pay are the signs of a well to do person. These are the only things checked, from your parents and relatives to prospective spouses and their families.

Somehow even though you do not achieve big in life, if you do have any friends/ relatives/ acquaintances/ brother-in-law’s-cousin’s-friend’s-nephew working at a big post in any random company, you can brag about it endlessly and walk with your head held high. Anyone who doesn’t meet the criteria is looked down; in short they become non-achievers, good for nothing and useless.

I and my parents too are guilty of holding this thought. Never did it strike me earlier that if someone was moving away from the crowd, it was because they were doing things that make them happy, that they are running after their passion or chasing their dreams.

All this was fine until I met “him”, working for an NGO with not such a great pay and I had already written him off. Must have been bad at studies was the first thought that struck my head when I met him. But he changed my perceptions and preconceived notions and how!

He is someone who is bored of making money, someone who has realized that it’s easy sitting in the comfort of our homes sipping coffee and debating about the pathetic state of literacy in our country rather than actually making an effort to at least teach one child or in case you don’t have the time, contributing/donating to organizations striving to do the same. He completely turned my world upside down, shifting my focus from marks in exams to marks and pain people carry with them.

I now try to live by the mottoes –“Do only that which make you happy” and “Each one teach one”

Society has brainwashed and brain fed certain thought processes in us, its time to break them, to live free, to have rights AND responsibilities.

Be the change that you wish to see in the world 🙂

 

5 thoughts on “Judgments, decisions and mistakes

  1. From this post, I’m able to guess that you should be from India , because I’m an Indian too…. It’s true how people here have such age old views and refuse to come out from them. Glad you were able to look beyond what is projected!

    • Yeah you guessed right! 🙂
      I guess its just not me, fortunately a lot of people, atleast to the extent that I know of have been trying to break the constricted barriers of our society.

  2. Pingback: DAILY PROMPT: Binding Judgment | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

Leave a Reply

